The Next Step

On March 26, 2014, I published a blog post entitled “A Homeschool Business? Is It Possible?” in which I articulated my dream and plan for a Homeschool Resource Center and Consulting Business. I rented a small office in south Torrance and opened Tools for the Home Educator, selling gently-used curriculum, providing in-person workshops, and offering consultations in June 2014. In October 2018, I was able to move to slightly larger office space that was more centrally located, near the 405 freeway in north Torrance. As that lease neared its expiration and due to the declining profitability and numbers of in-person shoppers for used curriculum, I have spent the last few months selling off and then giving away the last of my inventory of teaching materials. But Tools for the Home Educator is still very much alive and now operating from my home.

So 9+ years later (October 2023), what is next for Penny Ross and Tools for the Home Educator with the time I used to devote to moving, pricing, and selling books?

  • More consulting with an increased emphasis on homeschool coaching
  • More training for homeschool parents through webinars, workshops, speaking gigs, and developing a digital course or two
  • More writing for her blog and other sources

I’ve now homeschooled my own 3 children from kindergarten through high school graduation (18 years total), run a homeschool program at my church (11 years), and been an independent homeschool consultant (9 years) for over 35 years total experience in the world of home education. I’ve worked with hundreds, if not thousands, of homeschool families, encouraging them toward educational success with their own children. Dissatisfaction with the public school system seems to be at an all-time high, and different means of alternative education are rapidly evolving.

As I enter into the next phase of development for Tools for the Home Educator, let me know how I can help you!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.